Introduction   Program   Talks & posters   Participants   Practical Info  

Young Women in Harmonic Analysis and PDE

December 2-4, 2016

Stefanie Petermichl (Université Paul Sabatier)

Characterizations of multi-parameter BMO spaces through boundedness of commutators

The characterisation of symbols that result in bounded Hankel or Toeplitz operators are classical and rather simple. When passing to real analysis and notably to multi-parameter real analysis, these questions become very quickly interesting and intensely complicated.

We discuss the simplicity and beauty of the classical base cases as well as the cornerstones into the world of real analysis 'away' from operator theory. In this situation one studies 'commutators' the simplest one of which takes the form $$Hb-bH$$ where $H$ is the Hilbert transform and $b$ stands for multiplication by a (bmo) function. Multi-parameter study of related objects was initiated by Sarah Ferguson and Cora Sadosky in the late 90s.

The real variable one-parameter theory we discuss includes parts of a classical article by Coifman Rochberg Weiss while the multi-parameter questions include a deep line by Ferguson, Lacey, Pipher, Wick, myself and others.
Emphasis is given to a recent result by Ou, Strouse and myself that solves an endpoint question begun by Ferguson/Sadosky. Although the proofs are 'hard analysis' exploiting several recent developments, one recognises the core that lies in elegant arguments stemming from operator theory.


Prof. Daniel Huybrechts erhält gemeinsam mit Debarre, Macri und Voisin ERC Synergy Grant

8. November 2019: "Pentagramma Mirificum". Hirzebruch lecture by Sergey Fomin

Hausdorff-Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

Toeplitz Kolloquium zur "Didaktik und Geschichte der Mathematik" im WS 2019/20

Berufspraktisches Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

21. Oktober 2019: Plücker Lecture 2019 by Frank den Hollander

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Prof. Dr. Valentin Blomer wurde zum Mitglied der Academia Europaea gewählt

Mathe-Team der Uni Bonn erzielt Spitzenplatz bei internationalem Wettbewerb

Ausschreibung: W2-Professur Reine Mathematik (Bewerbungsschluss: 31. Juli 2019)

Prof. Jan Schröer erhält Lehrpreis der Fakultät 2018; Sonderpreis für Dr. Antje Kiesel

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Fields-Medaille 2018

Bonner Mathematik weiterhin exzellent

Prof. Stefan Schwede zum Fellow of the AMS gewählt

Bonner Mathematik im Shanghai-Ranking auf Platz 36 und bundesweit führend

Prof. Catharina Stroppel wurde zum Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina gewählt

Prof. Peter Scholze neuer Direktor am MPIM

Dr. Thoralf Räsch erhält Lehrpreis der Uni Bonn

Bonner Mathematik beim CHE-Ranking wieder in Spitzengruppe

Bonner Mathematik beim QS World University Ranking 2018 weltweit unter den TOP 50 platziert und bundesweit führend

Prof. Peter Scholze wurde zum Mitglied der Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften gewählt.

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2016

[de] [en]