Introduction   Program   Talks & posters   Participants   Practical Info  

Young Women in Harmonic Analysis and PDE

December 2-4, 2016

Julia Butz (University of Regensburg)

Short Time Existence for Curve Diffusion Flow for Curves with Boundary Contact

In non-linear PDEs it is always desirable to be able to find strong solutions even if the initial regularity is low, as this gives insights in smoothing properties of the system and helps to provide good blow-up criteria.

In this contribution, we obtain local well-posedness for flexible initial data in $H_2^{4(\mu - \frac{1}{2})}(I)$, $\mu \in (\frac{7}{8}, 1]$ in the case of evolving curves driven by curve diffusion flow. This is done for curves which intersect an external boundary at a fixed angle $\alpha \in (0, \pi)$.

In order to reduce the geometric evolution equation to a quasilinear fourth order PDE on an interval, we use curvilinear coordinates. To establish local well-posedness for this equation and to deal with the rough initial data, we have to work in a setting of temporally weighted $L_p$-spaces. More precisely, we use a linearization procedure and employ a result on maximal $L_p$-regularity with temporal weights [1].

Once we know that the flow starts, a further step is to deduce a blow up rate by adapting the techniques of [2], [3].


[1] M. Meyries and R. Schnaubelt. Maximal regularity with temporal weights for parabolic problems with inhomogeneous boundary conditions. Mathematische Nachrichten, (285):1032-1051, 2012.
[2] G. Dziuk, E. Kuwert, and R. Schätzle. Evolution of elastic curves in $\mathbb{R}^n$: Existence and computation. SIAM J. Math. Anal., 33(5):1228-1245, 2002.
[3] A. Dall'Acqua and P. Pozzi. A Willmore-Helfrich $L_2$-flow of curves with natural boundary conditions. Comm. Anal. Geom., 22(4):617-669, 2014.


Prof. Daniel Huybrechts erhält gemeinsam mit Debarre, Macri und Voisin ERC Synergy Grant

8. November 2019: "Pentagramma Mirificum". Hirzebruch lecture by Sergey Fomin

Hausdorff-Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

Toeplitz Kolloquium zur "Didaktik und Geschichte der Mathematik" im WS 2019/20

Berufspraktisches Kolloquium im WS 2019/20

21. Oktober 2019: Plücker Lecture 2019 by Frank den Hollander

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Verdienstorden der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Prof. Dr. Valentin Blomer wurde zum Mitglied der Academia Europaea gewählt

Mathe-Team der Uni Bonn erzielt Spitzenplatz bei internationalem Wettbewerb

Ausschreibung: W2-Professur Reine Mathematik (Bewerbungsschluss: 31. Juli 2019)

Prof. Jan Schröer erhält Lehrpreis der Fakultät 2018; Sonderpreis für Dr. Antje Kiesel

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält Fields-Medaille 2018

Bonner Mathematik weiterhin exzellent

Prof. Stefan Schwede zum Fellow of the AMS gewählt

Bonner Mathematik im Shanghai-Ranking auf Platz 36 und bundesweit führend

Prof. Catharina Stroppel wurde zum Mitglied der Nationalen Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina gewählt

Prof. Peter Scholze neuer Direktor am MPIM

Dr. Thoralf Räsch erhält Lehrpreis der Uni Bonn

Bonner Mathematik beim CHE-Ranking wieder in Spitzengruppe

Bonner Mathematik beim QS World University Ranking 2018 weltweit unter den TOP 50 platziert und bundesweit führend

Prof. Peter Scholze wurde zum Mitglied der Nationale Akademie der Wissenschaften Leopoldina und der Berlin-Brandenburgische Akademie der Wissenschaften gewählt.

Prof. Peter Scholze erhält den Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz-Preis 2016

[de] [en]